6 replies to this topic

#1 dodson914

dodson914

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • LocationArlington, TX

Posted 07 July 2017 - 07:26 PM

Hi all! Like title says I am new to OMOB. I am torn between where to start and hoping the community can help me make this a little simpler. I tend to overthink things.

I am debating between starting off with OMOB V1 or starting with "New Split". I am torn because I don't want to lose a main lift with the new split but I like how it's broken up and has accessory work.

Is there a good way of adding in accessory work to V1? Would it be too much?

Any help/guidance would be greatly appreciated. Can't wait to start!

#2 danduerksen

danduerksen

Hard(est) to Kill

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,377 posts
  • LocationAbbotsford, BC, Canada

Posted 07 July 2017 - 08:10 PM

:D Fresh blood!!

Here's my opinion (and I'm no expert). Start with v1. If you have time to do accessory or conditioning after the main lift then have at it. There's the list of exercises in the update section. There's no real guide on sets or weights so it's something you have to get a feel for as you go. High reps low weight. Low reps challenging weight. After a cycle (preferably 2-3) of the original omob you should know how it works and what you like. Then you start playing around with v2, the different methods and the split. 

My thoughts on accessory. If you're a gym rookie do some research. Find out what movements compliment what. You'll find out a lot about how to program weights, sets and reps if you do the research. Keep it simple. A few well executed movements are better than a bunch of sloppy exercises. Decide if you're working out to get big (bodybuilder) or if you're working out to get strong (powerlifting) or working out for performance (athlete). Do some more research. Pick your accessories accordingly. Check out the logs for inspiration. Start your own log. Will get lots of guidance as you go.