#1 XFITM

XFITM

Rebel

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 13 posts

Posted 03 February 2016 - 01:19 AM

Hello, 

I've been training for a couple of years. I used to be member of a box but for now on, I'll train at home.

I just started OMOB strength and EMOM but I would like to do a little bit of conditioning.

I've been looking for some explanation how to design a wod. Is it completely random or there is programming behind it. Because some WOD like chippers are longer and don't target the same energy system than shorter one. Some takes long break between small burst of energy, others don`t have break. Also if I do thruster one day, will it affect my squat or press the day after ? 

Should I target 1 energy system for a while and switch to another or do them equally along the week ? 

How could I integrate it with OMOB. My goal is only to be fit. 

It's difficult to follow a programming on the web because there's a lot of thing I can`t do. Ex: I can`t sprint in winter, I don`t have a rower, my ceiling is low, so no wallball or snatch ...

Is there good resources on the topic on the internet or is there someone that can explain it to me ? I'm a bit lost and have a lot of questions. It's a lot easier to find information on strength programming than on conditioning.

Thank you

#2 UKoldguy

UKoldguy

Hard(est) to Kill

• Moderators
  • 2,835 posts
  • LocationEssex England

Posted 03 February 2016 - 09:47 PM

I have had the conversation with myself A LOT My best advice would be to buy Tactical barbell 2 Conditioning.

He explains lot about conditioning

Endurance = steady state cardio once or twice a week

Wods of all types

For Load

For time

For reps

2 to 3 times a week having a good mixture of each type, so just basicly mix it up. But it depends what type of training you want to do.

They all have their place

I did a squat, bench and pull up wod on Saturday and did Squat, bench and weighted pull ups on the following Monday. Had Sunday off to recover.